h1

iApprove: Wii Tennis.

November 4, 2008

Well, since we’ve got the Wii, and since I’m here blogging about it, I figured I’d do an approval.  So, I’d like to talk about my favorite WiiSport: tennis.

I like things like tennis.  Ping-pong, for example.  When I was a kid, a cousin of mine had a ping-pong table, and even though I sucked at it and would wear out in a short while (so, pretty much like now) I’m still pretty sure that I had a good time of it.  Over time, though, that particular cousin moved out, grew up, got married and is now living several towns away, so even if one assumed that that ping-pong table is still intact, there’s no way I could get my mitts on it.  And while I’ve always wanted a table (and a billiards table, and a baseball diamond, and a Foozie board — Wii Foozie, anyone?), we’ve never had the space for it.

That’s the beautiful thing about the Wii.  Even if you just spend the $250-ish to buy the thing, you can take it home, hook it up and play any of five different sports in your living room.  We took the option of shelling out another $50 for a second Wiimote and WiiPlay, so we can also play sweet games like Laser Hockey and Bull Racing.

But anyway, back to tennis.

I love the way it works.  My little guys move automatically, so I don’t have to worry about actually being near the ball when it comes my way.  I just have to swing my arm, and if I time it right I’ll swat the ball back to the other player (my little brother).  I don’t know why, but there’s just something extremely satisfying about swinging your arm and hearing the crack of the ball as it hits an imaginary net.  It’s awesome, even if I hit it out-of-bounds and little bro’ gets all the points.

So, yeah.  Even if all we’re using it for so far is a sports simulator, the Wii is well worth the money.  It’s saved us the cost of a tennis court, a billiards table and a baseball diamond, plus a racetrack, a golf course, a bowling alley, a punching bag (another thing I wanted), and… okay, I have no idea what Laser Hockey is.  But it’s cool.

Word count for this post: 384.  That’s 384 words that could have gone into my novel, but haven’t.  That’s okay; I’ll save the rest of my finger fury for WordPad.

Leave a Reply

