h1

iApprove: nanowrimo.org

November 5, 2008

Since I decided to embark on this whole NaNoWriMo thing, I figured I’d sign up at their website.  I needed to anyway, in order to get my novel validated on the 30th, so I went ahead and did it on the 3rd.

Let me tell you, these guys are awesome.  Not only do they have a support forum where you can sit around and kvetch or just procrastinate with other writers, and a feature that allows you to connect with people in your area, but they also send you regular pep talks.  From real writers. That’s right; when I got up this morning I had in my inbox an e-mail from Jonathan Stroud (not personally, but forwarded through the site).  He had a lot of things to say about the process of writing a first draft.  Many of them were things that I already knew, but had no clue that real writers experienced them all the time.  It was wonderful to know that these things were a normal part of the process.

The other thing the site did was send me a very nice welcome e-mail explaining some of the guidelines of NaNoWriMo (lovingly titled “NaNoWriMo loves JMorgan”).  They reminded me that while I may want to rip my hair out in frustration and give up, this happens to basically EVERYONE who participates and yet people still participate (and win) every year.  Thanks to them, I am inspired to stick to it and write for at least several more hours (until my inspiration runs out and then it’s time for more pep talks and brainstorming).  For this reason, I am extremely grateful for their support.

http://www.nanowrimo.org

Leave a Reply

