h1

iApprove: These gifts for Christmas.

December 9, 2008

Well, it wouldn’t be fair for me to gripe about the things I don’t want without offering alternatives, would it?  Especially since I know we don’t spend enough time together for you to really get a good dose of what I like.  So here, in no particular order, are things that I would be very pleased and grateful to get for Christmas.

  • Clothes (as long as they fit).

This may seem crazy, but I love getting clothes for Christmas.  Why?  Because they’re both pretty and useful.  Every year, my aunt and uncle buy me an adorable sweater for Christmas, and I love it to pieces.

My favorite kinds of clothes:

Decorative T-shirts (the kind with slogans or neat pictures).

Sweaters (attractive or simply functional).

Toe socks (I can always use more toe socks).

DoNotWant: Other socks, unless they’re Christmas socks.  I love wearing Christmas socks whether they have toes or not.

DoNotWant: Christmas-themed sweaters.  If you must, you must, but I’d prefer a shirt that I can use all winter.

  • Books.

I love books.  I love reading.  I am particularly fond of Discworld (I have The Wee Free Men and The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents), but I love fantasy books in general, and I appreciate a wide variety of other genres.  Books about pirates, books about writing, (good) books about history, and books written by little old ladies are all great.  Heck, I’ll read romance novels if you buy them for me (though what I do afterwards may vary).

DoNotWant: Uber-serious/realistic books.  I like fantasy, science fiction, exotic locales and/or humor, otherwise I find books to be rather bland.

  • Hair ties.

I have to my name exactly three good-quality hair ties, and I can only find one at any given time.  I could really use some more.

  • A game card for Puzzle Pirates.

I love Puzzle Pirates, but doubloons are remarkably difficult to come by without real money.  Rather than buying me a Wal-Mart gift card, could you buy me some money for Puzzle Pirates?

  • Interesting food ingredients/spices.

I love cooking, but I frequently find myself short on the necessary spices or ingredients to make really awesome food.  I also like whole foods.  Pomegranates, Mandarin or blood oranges, cardamom, bay leaves, emu jerky, and interesting sausages or bacon would be well-appreciated, as would unusual sugar-free chocolates.  But anything is potential culinary festivity.  If it’s weird, it’s food, and it’s not full of sugar or processed flour, I would love to give it a go.

Leave a Reply

