h1

iApprove: Shakespeare: The Complete Works.

December 27, 2008

I was going to write a poem about it.  A really COOL poem, with iambic pentameter and all that.  But I think I’m too tired, so I’ll just keep this short.

Although I haven’t had an opportunity to spend a lot of time reading it just yet, I’m enjoying what I’ve been reading so far (Romeo and Juliet, strictly for research purposes).  I admit that the rather dry (well, archaic more than dry) writing put me off at first, but once I got through that it occured to me that the characters were quite colorful and entertaining.  (“Woe is me, my one true love is my greatest enemy!”  “Juliet, what the heck are you on about?”)  (Also, “You kiss by the books!” – best romantic line EVER.)  Suffice it to say that I’m finding it quite an entertaining read.

Strangely, though, the more I read it the more it’s occuring to me that the fairy-oriented quotient of The Magical Legend of the Leprechauns is a complete, point-by-point reproduction of the story.  Mickey Muldoon is Romeo, Princess Jessica is Juliet, the Grand Banshee is the prince… etc.  The funny thing is, I think the movie was an improvement over the original (no offense to Shakespeare, but his main characters are driving me nuts).  At least now I understand why Mickey had to kill Count Grogan…

But anywho, I think that’s enough for tonight.  I recommend this book for people who like Shakespeare but don’t have his stuff, people who like classic literature but don’t have Shakespeare, people who are interested in classic literature but don’t have anything, and/or people who just want to read classic literature without being reminded of how wonderful it is by some snobby English teacher.

(P.S. It helps if you read the dialogue naturally, rather than by verse.)

Leave a Reply

