h1

iApprove: Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap.

January 1, 2009

So, after some days of cleaning my hair mainly with eggs and baking soda (roughly as appealing as it sounds), I’ve managed to get ahold of a bar of Dr. Bronner’s Magic All-One Soap, that pungent skin-and-hair-care product that I’ve heard so much about.  Unfortunately, the store only carried peppermint and lavender, so I wound up going with the peppermint.  (Several other scents are made, including eucalyptus, almond, rose, and citrus, and the soaps are also available as a liquid – which can be used to clean everything from counters to  your teeth, srsly.)

Rather than rattling on about the ecological or economical ramifications of the soap (it’s fair trade and organic, which is pretty cool), though, I’m going to cut straight to the meat of the subject: does the soap work?

The answer is an emphatic “yes.”

That doesn’t really explain it, so I’ll go into detail.  The first thing I did was put some in my hair.  I have considerably oily hair, and I hadn’t showered for three days (owing to time constraints; not to worry, I’ve been staying clean), so I was loaded with grease.  Using shampoo in such a case, it’d take about a couple of tablespoons to get most of the oil out of my hair, and then I’d have to wash it again to get the rest of it.  Only on the second wash would it ever think of lathering.

I’d heard of the amazing cleaning power of Dr. Bronner’s soap, so I knew I wouldn’t need a lot of it.  I rubbed a thin layer onto my hands, rubbed it together a bit, and started working the soap into my hair.  But what I was not prepared for was the exact level of potency.  That little bit of soap completely de-oiled my hair – and lathered to boot.  The only thing I had to do afterward was a conditioning vinegar rinse, and bam, I was good to go.  I was so impressed with that that I went ahead and washed the rest of myself with the soap, with similar results: a tiny amount led to excellent suds and thorough cleaning.

Bottom line: If you’re interested in free-trade, organic, and/or vegan soap, Dr. Bronner’s is for you.  If you’re interested in soap that will clean your hair without damaging it, this is also for you.  If you are even mildly interested in soap, and are not allergic to any of the ingredients, this product is for you.

One thing you have to watch out for, though, is Dr. Bronner’s loopy wisdom, printed all over most of his soap wrappers.  He was a trifle insane, and his soap has always been primarily a way to spread the word of his All-One beliefs system, so there are some mighty peculiar things printed on the label.  Which in no way stops this from being a mighty fine soap.

Target stocks these lovely soaps, or you can get them directly from the source at http://www.drbronner.com/

Leave a Reply

