h1

iApprove: Handmade Gifts for Christmas.

January 1, 2009

I probably should have mentioned this earlier, but the decorated pinecones (and the dreamcatcher I did for one cousin) were a smashing success.  The family loved their semi-personalized mini trees, without a doubt, and my mother adores her handmade Styrofoam-‘n’-feather birdie.

I don’t know why it is that handmade gifts work so much better than storebought ones (assuming, of course, that real thought is put into them).  I think that part of it is because relatives tend to appreciate the work put into making a quality piece of art.  I think another thing is that when you make stuff, you aren’t limited by the shapes and ideas that have already been actualized by other people.  You can take your materials and make basically anything, within physical reason.  There’s much more room for personalization (without embroidering each person’s name onto the front).

At any rate, after the reaction I got from my relatives this Christmas, I don’t think there’s any way I’ll be going back to store-bought presents.  Not only was this much less expensive, but it was much easier to provide objects that I knew everyone would like.

Leave a Reply

