h1

iApprove: Strawberry-Pineapple Cobbler.

March 5, 2009

Yet another cooking experiment gone horribly AWESOME.

While cleaning out the freezer the other day, I found a container of pineapple.  It looked tasty, so I left it on the counter to thaw, not really sure what I would do with it.  It sat in the fridge for a couple of days, and tonight I decided I’d better figure out what to do with it before it could start fermenting.

I did a search online for “pineapple desserts”.  Very little of the options looked appealing, but there was one that did stand out: pineapple cobbler.  It sounded like a good idea, but I was running against a couple of problems: firstly, pineapple doesn’t taste that great on its own, and secondly, there wasn’t enough of it to do a whole cobbler.

Then I remembered that we had some strawberries in the freezer.  BINGO!

So I took the pineapple (about a cup and a half) and the strawberries (also about a cup and a half, maybe a bit less) and mixed them together.  In a seperate bowl, I softened a cup of coconut flakes with milk and water, then ate some of the coconut, added a quarter-cup of butter and a couple of teaspoons of honey, and added about three quarters of a cup of oatmeal flakes.  I mixed it well and let it sit for awhile.

While dinner was cooking, I took the coconut-oatmeal mix and lined the bottom of a Corningware casserole dish (small size).  Into that I poured the fruit mixture, and I sprinkled some more crust mix on the top.  (I still had way more than I needed.  I would guess that I’d only need a half-cup each of coconut and oatmeal.)  I baked it at 350 degrees for about fifteen minutes, and we ate it after dinner.

It was darned good.  The strawberry and pineapple complement each other well, and the pineapple was sweet enough that no sweetener was needed in the fruit.  The coconut and oatmeal were, as always, wonderful (though a bit gritty, as coconut tends to be).  My only complaint would be that it made a rather small cobbler; it provided adequate portions for five people, but not enough to really indulge.  But maybe that’s a good thing.

All in all, it was a rather fantastic piece of food.

Leave a Reply

