h1

It’s Essay Time.

March 5, 2009

When the time comes to take my GED exam, I will be required to write an essay.  I am fairly sure I will be able to do this, although I find myself somewhat nervous about it.

Essay writing is a subject in which I have a significant amount of experience.  I have been writing essays, in one form or another, for several years.  Some of them are available on the Internet, and they cover a wide variety of topics.  Usually these are rather inane, such as time travel, fish, or vampires, but I do occasionally dabble into practical subjects.

I am a bit unsure as to the nature of the things I’ll need to include in this essay.  All I know at this point is that I will be required to write on a specific topic, and that I must use a standard essay formula: an opening paragraph, followed by three paragraphs of content and a final, closing paragraph.  This, too, is a subject in which I have some experience.  In the many essays I have written, it has always felt strange if I neglected to include a closing sentence.

Despite my experience, I am still a bit nervous about the whole process.  I am concerned that I will not be able to impart as much information as an essay should contain.  I am less concerned about matters of sentence structure; as stated above, I have been doing this sort of thing for some time.  The other thing that worries me is the time limit; I should have about forty-five minutes to complete the task and, though I am sure that is plenty of time, I still feel constrained by it.

Given my history and experience with the subject, I am fairly certain that my misgivings are poorly placed or at the least exaggerated.  However, I will continue to practice the art of essay-writing whenever the situation arises.

Leave a Reply

