h1

iApprove: Write the Game.

March 23, 2009

Feh… moar work.  Like, a neverending stream of it.  What a pain in the rear.

The good news is, I’m done with the Farrah Fawcett hair (at least the basics… still have to animate it), so I’ve been able to move onto some other important things: easier-to-animate hair, and learning how to write a video game in the first place.

That’s how I found Write the Game.

While it is mostly not about writing video games (it’s more about writing about video games, which is pretty cool, too), it does include one series which I found rather useful: How to Write A Video Game Script That Kicks Ass (their terminology, not mine).  While most of it was stuff I already knew, some of it was useful, and it was good to know that I was on the write track with my project.  (Namely flowcharts.  Flowcharts are a game designer’s friend.)  I don’t know that I’ll garner mass quantities of fans who will write hoards of fanfic about it, but it seems to me that I’m off to a decent start, so I’m cool with that.

Read their guide – and the rest of the blog – at http://www.isotx.com/wordpress/

Leave a Reply

