h1

An interesting factoid about kittens…

April 6, 2009

(Oy!  This was supposed to be published days ago.  I have no idea why it didn’t, but here it goes now.)

Well, I had a good bit of fun yesterday.  The computer, lurching under the weight of two or three trojans, was on its last leg.  It crashed every 5-10 minutes, kept throwing random pop-up ads, and had decided that it could no longer read flash drives.

So I formatted the beastie.  It’s better now.

Another thing I did yesterday was hold one of the soft, fuzzy, adorable kittens that one of our cats has so generously bequeathed upon us.  They’re somewhere between a week and two weeks old, so naturally they are irresistible to humans.

Unfortunately, they are also cranky little fuzzbutts.  They all have a canary fit when you try to pick them up.  Two or three of them will continue to have said canary fit as long as you’re holding them, and will not shut up until you put them back in their box.

Fortunately for me, I managed to devise a solution.  I hit upon it rather by accident, really.  I was holding one of the kittens, stroking it, talking softly to it, trying to get the little cuss to quit meowing, at least for a few minutes.  I even tried imitating its mother – no dice.  (My momcat impression is terrible; this may have factored into it.)

So I tried singing.  Not any uber-fantabulous singing, mind – more like extended, quiet hooting.  Cooing, you might say.  The kind of thing that drives any human in a ten-foot radius absolutely bonkers.

And whaddya know?  The kitten shut up.

Not only did it stop crying, but the little fuzzball quit trying to escape.  Where before I had been dealing with a wigglewort kitten who probably would have jumped off my shoulder if I let it, now I had a quiet, complacent kitten snuggled into my arm, happy as a clam.  And it stayed there, as long as I kept singing.  Once I stopped it would get fussy again.

I have no idea why the kitten would respond to this.  I certainly didn’t sound anything like a mother cat.  I suspect vibrations had something to do with it; the kitten seemed to prefer when I hummed at a lower pitch.  Perhaps the longer wavelength was close enough to its mother’s purring that it soothed the little beastie.

Either way, it seems that kittens are much easier to please than infected computers.

Leave a Reply

